Empties #3

I don’t go through products very quickly. I am always amazed when I see other bloggers posting monthly empties posts with huge volumes of empty containers, because it would probably take me more than 8 months to go through that many products. Here are my empties for pretty much the entire fall semester (August-November).

P1480289

P1480296

V05 | Shine, Glow & Go Beauty Oil (~$5 at my local grocery store)

This is a hair and body oil that I’ve been using as a body moisturizer. I especially love the way this feels on my legs, although I’ve also been using it on my torso and arms. It takes a while to absorb, so I usually put it on in the mornings right before slipping into my jeans and in the evenings right before bed. I have also tried this on my hair, but it’s a little heavy for my taste and means I need to wash my hair more frequently, which I’m not willing to do right now.

Repurchase? I already have! This costs around $5 at most drugstores, although I actually picked it up at my local grocery store.

What am I using now? This product, once again.

P1480292 P1480293

Yves Rocher | Elixir 7.9 Youth Energy Day Care for Normal to Combination Skin (this was a free gift with purchase; regular price is $37 for 1.3 oz.)

When I discovered this product in February, I fell in love pretty instantly. This is supposed to be a day cream, but I used it mostly as a night cream because I’ve been using lighter moisturizers or moisturizers with SPF during the day. I really love the texture of it. The texture is halfway between a cream and a gel, which makes a little go a long way. I also love the smell of this — it’s very difficult to describe, but it’s very fresh and reminds me of botanical elements.

Repurchase? I’ve also already repurchased this — this is very much a season of repurchasing! What’s especially cool about this product is that the inside pod pops out, enabling you to reuse the solidly constructed outside packaging and reducing the price of refills. Yves Rocher is always having sales, so I was able to snag my 1.3 oz refill container for $12.

What am I using now?  I haven’t opened my shiny new moisturizer capsule yet because I’m trying to finish up another moisturizer first (otherwise, I know I’ll get distracted by this one!). Namely, The Body Shop Vitamin E Nourishing Night Cream, which is perfectly good but I won’t repurchase because I’m not in love with its scent..

P1480291

The Body Shop | Nutriganics (~$22 for 0.5 oz.)

I think this eye cream might be a holy grail product for me. The texture is light yet moisturizing, and it sinks in quickly. It contains small golden shimmer particles that reflect light and help disguise dark undereyes. As a bonus, if I use it after doing my eye makeup, it gets rid of any fallout I might have incurred while applying my eyeshadow.

And best of all, it’s the cheapest eye cream I’ve ever come across (when it’s on sale, as it often is)! Maybe when I’m older I’ll invest in a more intense eye cream, but for the moment this is perfect for me.

Repurchase? Definitely! I repurchased this during The Body Shop’s Cyber Monday sale for $11.

What am I using now?  I’m currently using 100% Pure’s Caffeine Eye Cream in the mornings, which I like a lot. And while I might repurchase that one as well, I will still be using the Nutriganics eye cream at night. Something feels weird to me about putting caffeine on your eyes right before bed!

P1480290

nügg | Revitalizing Face Mask ($16.50 for 5 capsules)

This mask has a creamy gel consistency, and smells strongly of peppermint and herbs. It feels nice and cooling going onto my skin, and after using it my skin feels really hydrated and relaxed.

Repurchase? Yes! I repurchased this during Birchbox’s 30% off Black Friday sale, so it cost $11.55 for a pack of 5. I can get 3-4 uses out of a container, and so this boils down to 60 cents per use. Not bad!

What am I using now?  I have so many masks, but two of my other favorites have been the Royal Apothic Cuppa Cuppa Tea mask and the Yves Rocher 3-Minute Cranberry Cooling Effect mask.

When I started this empties post I had only repurchased 2 of the 4 items listed, but by the time I got around to actually posting it I had repurchased every single item on the list! This is amazing to me. It means I was impressed by enough products to actually both use them up and to repurchase them. This is meaningful to be because it means I’m that much closer to finding a skincare routine that I like every piece of!

img_20160121_101010004.jpg

6 thoughts on “Empties #3

  1. I love seeing the types of products that people enjoy! I’ll definitely be checking these ones out and hopefully they’ll work awesome for me too! Thank you so much for sharing! Can’t wait to read more! 🙂

  2. I’ve got a bunch of Yves Rocher skincare that I need to either give away or crack open. It’s really nice of them to give full size products to try – and see, it worked on you because you repurchased it when you ran out! 😉
    Oh FYI, Body Shop is discontinuing the Nutriganics line so it’s all 50% off right now. If you love that eye cream… you might want to stock up and then cry about it being gone!

    • No! What?!? There’s no way they’re doing that….. is there? Where did you hear about it? I’m already debating whether I want to repurchase the Drops of Youth Concentrate, and if they’re discontinuing everything I guess I’ll also have to get a backup of the eye cream.
      I love almost all the Yves Rocher skincare that I’ve tried — I should probably talk about it even more, given how much I love it! But the sad thing is that it expires so quickly that it can be hard to get through a full size product in time since I bounce around between different products so much.

  3. Pingback: January Recap | Just A Primer

Leave a Comment

