Crabtree & Evelyn Hand Cream Extravaganza

I love Crabtree & Evelyn products, despite not having ever owned very many of them. I can pinpoint the exact moment when my love began – the year I received a basket of products from their Summer Hill line from my grandmother for my birthday. It felt like such an adult gift, since scented gifts were so rare for me to receive, especially as nice as ones as these. I used those products like they were made of silver and was so sad when the single product I loved the most out of that basket, the Summer Hill Hand Therapy, finally ran out. I still have and use several of the other longer-lasting products from that basket, like the perfume, but I still think about that hand cream.

P1480575

In the leadup to Black Friday Crabtree & Evelyn was posting some pretty great deals, and so over the weekend I kept my eye on their website to see if something would come up that I simply had to get. When I saw this set of 10 hand creams on sale, I knew it would be perfect since I could gift some of them to family and keep some for myself. I also added on a hand care duo all for myself.

First of all, I was really impressed by the packaging. They used recycled bubble wrap! They did use an awful lot of it, though… Maybe it would be more environmentally friendly just to use a smaller box? Still, I think that this bubble wrap is cool enough to save until I need to send a package myself.

P1480566

The set of 10 hand creams comes in a beautiful case. Since I’m gifting the creams individually, this case is mine, all mine! It’s the perfect size for taking an intense skincare routine on a longer trip. I packed in it to go home over winter break, and it worked great! It also looks really classy. While pink isn’t usually my preferred color, this shade is just so beautiful that I can’t help but love it. I also adore the gold accent plate!

The hand creams came packaged really nicely. This would definitely be a beautiful set to gift to someone as-is! I gave a brief sniff to each of the scents, and tried my best to describe them below, along with whether I plan to keep the hand cream for myself or gift it.

P1480577

Pear & Pink Magnolia ~ Exactly as the name describes. Flowery with a distinct pear overtone. Keep.

Rosewater ~ Rosewater! What a perfect name for this scent. Exactly like roses, but much lighter than most rose scents. More like how roses smell early in the morning when they’re still covered in dew rather than in the afternoon when they’re being heated by the sun. Gift, because I know my grandmother will love this.

Lavender ~ Just like freshly-cut lavender. Gift, but only because I think my mother will appreciate this smell even more than me.

Nantucket Briar ~ Flowery and slightly powdery. I think this is my favorite scent out of the entire box. Keep!

La Source ~ The opening to this was covered with foil, and so I wasn’t able to smell it. I wonder why this one was covered and the rest weren’t? In any case, this will be going to my mom because I know the scent isn’t very distinctive and so I think she’ll be able to use it at her office.

P1480578

Lily ~ Light, like all the other scents. Less obviously lily than many other lily-of-the-valley scents I’ve encountered, but it’s there. Gift, because despite it being the flower of my birth month, I’ve never really liked Lily of the Valley scents. This is a really nice version of lily, though! If I weren’t trying to gift most of these, I would actually be happy keeping it.

Avocado, Olive & Basil ~ This mostly smells like a mix of basil and olive wood. I have an olive wood ornament that I really love, and this reminds me of that. I am on the fence about whether to keep or gift this one.

Citron, Honey & Coriander ~ Very lemony, with a hint of sweetness and a hint of herb. Gift, because I’m going to keep the one in the hand care tin that I ordered (unless I end up loving it so much I need a backup!).

Pomegranate, Argan & Grapeseed ~ This smells like pomegranate and… olives? Maybe that’s the grapeseed – I’m not too familiar with what either argan or grapeseed smells like, Gift, although I’m not sure to who yet (I ended up slipping this into a gift bag for my cousin).

Gardeners ~ This smells like a mix of herbs, including thyme, sage, rosemary, and lavender. This is going to my grandmother because I know she likes this C&E scent already.

The texture of the hand creams are very nice, although maybe a little light for winter. It’s good enough for me when I do a good job of keeping my hands moisturized, but if they’re a little dry and I need a heavier dose of moisture, I need to turn to something else (which is odd, because I remember the Summer Hill Hand Therapy I used to have as incredibly moisturizing —  maybe I didn’t use to need as much moisture?). The cream absorbs quickly, and is not at all greasy. The scent lingers a little, although since the fragrances are all pretty light to begin with no one else is going to notice it.

P1480753

Last summer I stayed at a hotel with C&E products from the Citron, Honey & Coriander line and loved them, and so I decided to treat myself to this hand care duo as well. In the winter my hands get dry so easily, and I’m looking forward to trying to take better care of them this year.

The packaging for this was really nice, and definitely giftable. I actually considered gifting some of the hand creams from the 10-piece set in this tin, but I decided to keep it for another time. Also, I thought the tag was really pretty!

P1480565

So far I like this duo. I haven’t used it much because it’s not the depths of winter yet here, but the scrub is poised on the edge of my sink ready for action and the hand cream is living in my backpack.

Have you ever ordered anything from Crabtree & Evelyn? Of the scents I described, which one sounds the best to you?

3 thoughts on “Crabtree & Evelyn Hand Cream Extravaganza

  1. This is such a great set! You will have enough hand cream for the whole year lol! We went into C&B before Christmas and bought my MIL a hand cream set and she loved it – I recalled one of the scents was an apple smell which was really delicious.

    • Since I’m only keeping 4-5 of these, I didn’t think they’d last me nearly a year (especially given that I’m trying my best to use hand cream as often as I can)….until I was looking through some old boxes just now and stumbled across 2 other, larger hand creams I’d received at various points. Oops. Looks like I am truly set for the year! That doesn’t stop me from wanting to repurchase the Smoky Poppy Body Butter from TBS, though… I love it as a hand cream!

  2. Pingback: January Recap | Just A Primer

Leave a Comment

