December 2015 Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison

For those of you still not familiar with sample choice, it’s a program that began last August where Birchbox subscribers have the option to select a sample to be included in next month’s box. Each month several samples are revealed and the sample you pick will replace one of your traditional 5 samples. This is a comparison of those options based on research I’ve done using other blogs and my own calculations. As is now usual, this month I’ve taken all of my images as screenshots from the official Birchbox video.

This month’s theme is “Home for the Holidays”. I think this theme is pretty cute! I’m looking forward to how Birchbox incorporates it into their activities for the month.

The December sample options initially appeared to be a choice between three colors of eyeshadow. All three are from Coastal Scents and are glimpses into their StyleEYES palettes. However, I originally couldn’t find any information on these palettes anywhere — not even a “new product” announcement! But right before posting this I decided to check one last time and I found this palette on the Birchbox website. I wonder why it wasn’t there before! Each palette features 8 complementary shadows around a mirror in the center and is meant to be purse-sized.

wpid-wp-1447976204705.png wpid-wp-1447976169904.png

The first duo is called GlamourEYES and pairs an emerald green and bright gold shadow. Lorelei is wearing it in the sample reveal video.

wpid-wp-1447976150890.png

The second option is the FormalEYES duo, which offers up what appears to be a rose gold shimmer and a more matte tan shadow.

wpid-wp-1447976130257.png

The third eyeshadow duo is called SocialEYES and it is a light grey/dark grey pairing that looks like it could be used to make the perfect smoky eye.

wpid-wp-1447976121827.png

Luckily, for those subscribers who aren’t fans of eyeshadows, Birchbox is also offering a fourth sample choice: the Serge Normant Dream Big Instant Volumizing Spray. It has majority awesome reviews on Birchbox.

The featured box has been curated by Birchbox’s editors this month with the theme “Winter Essentials”.

wpid-wp-1447976089342.png

This box includes:

– derma e Microdermabrasion Scrub
– eSalon Perfect Ending Leave In Conditioner
– Coastal Scents StyleEYES Palette in GlamourEYES
– Juara Coconut Illipe Hand and Nail Balm
– Jane Iredale Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain in Forever Peach
– Chuao Chocolatier Cinnamon Cereal Smooch

This box is awfully tempting! According to its glowing reviews, the derma e scrub has very fine salt granules that offer up a the perfect balance of effective and gentle. The eSalon leave-in conditioner also has good reviews. The eyeshadow palette is the green/gold duo that I described in the sample choice for this post. Once again, I’m left wishing we could choose which color eyeshadow we want in the featured box! That would make this box a total winner for me.

I’ve sampled two Juara products so far and I really like them as a brand now. This hand balm doesn’t have many reviews, but if it’s as good as the rest of Juara’s products you won’t be disappointed. There are some swatches of Forever Peach here and here, with a more in-depth review of the stain itself here. This alone almost makes me want to select this box, because the peach color looks so gorgeous! This box also contains a sample of Chuao chocolate, which sounds delicious (and probably is).

UPDATE: When I went to pick my sample, the image  below is what popped up for the Featured Box. As you can see, the GlamourEYES sample has been replaced with FormalEYES. It’s also the image being shown in the shop for buying this box on its own. I’m really hoping that this swap actually happened, because I went ahead and selected the featured box just because of this!

The “Winter Essentials" Featured Box

The regular boxes this month are a nice knit silver pattern on a bright white background. It reminds me of sweaters and snow, which is just perfect for winter! But the bottom of the box looks like a bright yellow color, which I am totally not a fan of. Why not stick with the white theme?! Or at least a color that’s more wintry, like blue. The curated box is a pretty purply blue with a turquoise bottom.

wpid-wp-1447976199579.png wpid-wp-1447976192214.png wpid-wp-1447976094778.png

Sample choice will happen on November 25th for subscribers (November 24th for Ace members and referrers).

This month is also a difficult sample choice. I’m torn between the rose gold duo, the smoky eye duo, or the featured box. Although I’m super tempted by the box, I think I’ll probably end up going for the rose gold duo because I can always use travel-sized shadows in colors that I love. But maybe I’ll end up ordering the box separately…. you can still do that with featured boxes, right?

Which sample choice option are you leaning towards?

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Leave a Comment

