September Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison

I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since sample choice started!!! The time has passed so quickly. I’m especially excited because I finally qualify as an Ace!

For those of you not familiar with sample choice, it’s a program that began last August where Birchbox subscribers have the option to select a sample to be included in next month’s box. Each month 3-4 samples are revealed and the sample you pick will replace one of your traditional 5 samples. This month, Birchbox subscribers have the chance to choose from 4 samples, or select a box curated by a guest editor. This is a comparison of those options based on research I’ve done using other blogs and my own calculations. This month I’ve taken all of my images as screenshots from the official Birchbox video.

First, the sample options. This month’s theme is “Better Together” and was inspired by Birchbox subscribers.

wpid-wp-1439854274308.png wpid-wp-1439854279504.png

The first sample choice is Davines Love Smoothing Shampoo and Conditioner. I wasn’t a huge fan of the scent of the Davines Love line, but I thought it was a perfectly adequate shampoo when I tried it last year. I can just never get excited about shampoo samples. Sidenote: I’ve never understood sending a huge bottle of shampoo and a foil sample of conditioner. Personally, I need 2x as much conditioner as I do shampoo! At the very least, send equal-sized bottles of each.

The second option is Pop Beauty’s Portfolio Eyeshadow Trio in Sugar Plum. I’ve received a similar trio in Peach Parfait, and liked it well enough. The color payoff was good and the shades themselves were really nice. The quality of the shadows wasn’t as high as others I’ve encountered, but the trio is a great size if you don’t have other travel-friendly shadows.

wpid-wp-1439854284017.png wpid-wp-1439854287559.png

The third sample offering is Anastasia Beverly Hills Perfect Brow Pencil in Medium Brown. I have heard that Anastasia is the premier brand for brow products. However, this particular product doesn’t seem to be as liked as Anastasia’s other brow products. Some people love it, but others think that the texture is too waxy. Plus, the medium brown color won’t work for everyone. Still, I think it’s worth a shot if you’re new to the whole “brow” thing (as I am).

The final option is dr. brandt Pores No More Cleanser. I’ve received several samples from dr. brandt in the past, and I’ve liked all of them. This cleanser is supposed to reduce the size of pores, as are many of dr. brandt’s other products. This particular cleanser seems to be very well-liked.

The featured box this month is titled “Customer Favorites”.

wpid-wp-1439854301572.png

This box includes:
– Beauty Protector Protect & Shampoo
– Beauty Protector Protect & Condition
– Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser
– Harvey Prince Hello
– Marcelle Mini Waterproof Eyeliner in Mulberry

The curated box includes a lot of wonderful samples. I haven’t tried this particular shampoo & conditioner, but I do love all of the Beauty Protector products that I have tried. The Liz Earle cleanser is a total cult beauty product, and definitely worth testing out. I personally love the Hello fragrance — I received it in my first ever Birchbox, and ended up buying a rollerball of it. It’s the perfect citrus floral, in my opinion. And finally, the Marcelle eyeliner is a very nice eyeliner, especially in this pretty purple color. I got a Marcelle eyeliner mini in aqua from Birchbox two months ago, and I wish it had been in this color instead!

The boxes this month are inspired by mood boards sent in by 3 Birchbox subscribers. I think they’re fairly pretty, especially the “you’re beautiful” written in gold. The featured box is also very pretty — I love the color combination!

wpid-wp-1439854291536.png wpid-wp-1439854297385.png

Sample choice will happen on August 27th for subscribers (August 26th for Ace members and referrers — for once, that’s me!).

This month the sample choice that stands out to me is the Anastasia Brow Pencil. I know absolutely nothing about eyebrow makeup, and this seems like a good place to start. I did consider the Pop Beauty eyeshadow trio, but I have so many eyeshadows that I probably shouldn’t accumulate more right now, even though I love purple shadow… The featured box looks really amazing, but I’ve already tried most of the products; however, if those products are new to you (and you don’t mind receiving shampoo and conditioner as two separate samples), I absolutely recommend it!

Which sample choice option are you leaning towards?

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Leave a Comment

