Empties #2: Skin + Hair Edition

Welcome to my second empties post! In case you’re new to the beauty blogging world, an empties post is where I gather up all of the products I’ve used up (“emptied”) in the past several months and write my final thoughts about them. This post is entirely skincare or haircare products, because that’s what I use the most of. These are the products that I finished off in the last few weeks of school. And so…

IMG_20150519_093420829_HDR

The Body Shop Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream ($16.50 for full size – bought on sale for $9.90)

I loved this. Full review here. This is a wonderful, light moisturizer, perfect for summer. The only problem is its lack of SPF (although if it did contain SPF, I probably wouldn’t like the texture as much!).

Repurchase? I’ve already repurchased this for the second time.

What am I using now?  I’m alternating this with CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM SPF 30 as a daytime moisturizer.

IMG_20150519_093451132

Clean & Clear | Morning Burst Facial Scrub ($1.99 for 1 oz.)

This facial scrub smells like ginseng and contains bright yellow bursting beads that feel rejuvenating early in the morning. Using this definitely makes me feel more alert and cheerful about being awake.

Repurchase? Yes! This is the perfect pick-me-up in the mornings, and I love this little trial size because it’s so portable and easy to take with me when I travel.

What am I using now?  My second tube of this 🙂

IMG_20150519_093427751

Apothecary Muse | 2nd Responder Spray ($2 for small spray vial)

This spray is intended to help heal scratches, scrapes, burns, blisters, and other everyday accidental pains. However, after just a week or two of being in my backpack, the vial leaked and the entire contents spilled out. For a container intended to be transported, I was pretty disappointed.

While it lasted, however, I liked it well enough. It smells strongly of peppermint tinged with rosemary and tea tree oil, which I luckily like. The container was pretty decent at spraying a fine mist until it started leaking, so application was easy. And it did feel nice on any scratches that I accumulated, although with such a short time of use I can’t really say if it helped them heal faster.

Repurchase? No, for fear of getting another faulty vial. Plus, this isn’t a product I consider necessary at all. I’m just as happy relying on my arsenal of drugstore cures.

What am I using now?  I do have the similar Healing Salve from Apothecary Muse that I’ve been using as a spot moisturizer and on scabs to help them heal faster, and I like it quite a bit.

P1430677

Pantene Anti-Breakage Conditioner (~$4 for 12.6 oz.)

I have been using Pantene conditioner since middle school, and I think it’s the best conditioner on the planet. It’s thick and moisturizing, makes my hair so soft and easy to brush, and is pretty cheap as far as conditioners go. I’ve actually gone through two bottles of this in the last few months!

The only slightly negative thing I have to say about Pantene is that I haven’t noticed any difference between the different types of conditioner they have. This one claims to prevent breakage, but my hair seems just as prone to breakage as always (which admittedly isn’t very). However, since I love the way Pantene conditioners make my hair look and feel, I really don’t care about the formulas not seeming to vary between different lines.

Repurchase? I’ll always keep buying Pantene, but now I’m using their Pro-V Nature Fusion Smoothing Conditioner with Avocado Oil.

White Rain Hydrations All Day Moisturizing Body Wash ($1 for 12.8 oz.)

I bought this at a cheapo grocery store last summer simply because it was so cheap, and I’ve been trying to use it up as fast as possible ever since. It has an okay smell; an okay feel; an okay cleaning ability; absolutely everything about this is “okay”. But I expect more from my body wash. I don’t like this because it is so completely bland. It also has a slightly goopy texture that I don’t appreciate. It does feel really nice on my legs while shaving, though. If you only have a $1 budget for body wash this would be a fine choice, but I’m willing to spend more to get a higher quality than this.

Repurchase? No.

Olay Essential Oils Ribbons Moisturizing Body Wash in Jojoba & Orchid (~$6 for 18 oz.)

I bought this on a whim back in November because I thought that it sounded moisturizing and I liked the scent. Most of my body washes are actually bought on a whim, but that’s beside the point. The point is: I really loved this body wash!

This is hands-down the most moisturizing body wash I’ve ever used. It was complete heaven to use in the shower because of the wonderful scent and luxurious texture, and it left my skin feeling extremely moisturized. It is a little bit on the expensive side, but it also lasted a pretty long time. While I have plenty of other body washes to work through for the time being, I’m definitely going to be returning to this one for the cold months.

Repurchase? Yes…when winter rolls around again.

What am I using now?  Yves Rocher Jardins Du Monde Shower Cream in Laotian Violet Rice. Although I’m actually trying to rush through this because I don’t love it.

VO5 Herbal Escapes Moisturizing Shampoo in Free Me Freesia ($0.89 for 12.5 oz.)

This is a very basic and effective shampoo that has a really nice scent (I love this one and their green tea scent). I’ve found a few shampoos that I like more, but none that offer as good of a value. While I’m unwilling to compromise on my body wash, shampoo is something that I’m happy to spend just $1 on.

Repurchase? Yes.

IMG_20150519_093537307

Softsoap Liquid Hand Soap in Orchid Petal & Mint Water (~$7)

This is lovely, although on the expensive side. It did last a very long time, though! Probably a solid 5 months. The scent is really nice and fresh, with a touch of floral.

Repurchase? Maybe. I really like trying new things when it comes to hand soap, though.

Yves Rocher Liquid Hand Soap in Cocoa & Orange (~$4.50)

I bought this as part of a set, and it ended up being the only item of the trio that I could tolerate. The scent was okay, but not nearly as good as I’d been expecting. Instead of smelling like rich chocolate and fresh orange, it smells like you mixed chocolate and orange together and let it sit for a while.

Repurchase? No. I would much rather be using something else.

What am I using now? Bath & Body Works Golden Apricot Foaming Hand Soap.

Leave a Comment

