June Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison

For those of you not familiar with sample choice, it’s a program that began last August where Birchbox subscribers have the option to select a sample to be included in next month’s box. Each month 3-4 samples are revealed and the sample you pick will replace one of your traditional 5 samples. This month, Birchbox subscribers have the chance to choose from 5 samples, or select a box curated by a guest editor. This is a comparison of those options based on research I’ve done using other blogs and my own calculations. This month I’ve taken all of my images as screenshots from the official Birchbox video. I also had too much time on my hands, so I calculated the value of every sample.

First, the sample options. This month’s theme is ADVENTURE. I’m so excited about this theme that I needed to write it in all caps 🙂

image

However, I am pretty disappointed by the first announcement that every box will contain an Eyeko Fat Liquid Eyeliner. I’m sure it’s a lovely eyeliner, but I don’t actually like eyeliner very much and I certainly don’t need another one when I already have quite a few. Still, it’s a brand new product, and I’m sure most of you will love it. Sample value: ~$9.

Luckily, the four actual sample options are much more exciting (to me, at least).

image

image

image

image

The first sample is the Coola Mango Body Sunscreen SPF 50, which is perfect for summer because it’s waterproof. Everyone seems to love the scent of this, but reviews are split on how well it absorbs into the skin. Sample value: $1.51.

Next up is the Supergoop! Everyday SPF 50 sunscreen. I’ve received this sample before and I like this sunscreen a lot. It has a distinctive smell that’s refreshingly different from the traditional sunscreen smell, and absorbs into my skin really nicely with no white residue. Sample value: $2.69.

The third sample is the Skyn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels. The reputation of these to reduce undereye puffiness, fine lines, and dark circles precedes them. All of the reviews rave about how refreshing and effective they are. I do wonder about whether they’re reusable; the description makes it sound like they are, but the Birchbox video mentions that they’re single use. Sample value: $3.75.

The final option is the Dr. Jart+ Dermaclear Microwater. I’ve liked the other samples I’ve received from the Dr. Jart+ brand, and this product has good reviews. It’s not something I’d ever heard of before, but after reading the description it seems like it’s just your typical micellar cleansing water, meant for removing makeup before bed. Sample choice: ~$2-3.

The featured box this month is curated in partnership with The Tig, which is a lifestyle website.

image

This box contains:
– Eyeko Fat Liquid Eyeliner (~$9)
– Real Chemistry 3-Minute Peel ($4.80)
– Harvey Prince Hello Body Creme (~$1)
– Oribe Cote d’Azur fragrance (~$1.50)
– Davines Su Hair and Body Wash (~$2.50)

Total box value: ~$18.80

In recent months, I have been mostly disinterested in the curated boxes. This month is no different. I am personally most interested in the Hello Body Creme, but I actually just purchased that sample from the Harvey Prince website. I’ve also received the Real Chemistry Peel before, and it was okay but I didn’t love it. The Oribe perfume does sound intriguing, a citrus-floral that sounds great for summer. I’ve received several Davines hair products before, but I haven’t heard of this particular one. The sample size is great — definitely big enough to tell whether you’ll like it!

There are three different patterns for the June box, and they are all so beautiful that I’m actually wondering if it’s possible to buy the other two boxes!!! Or maybe postcards with the design? Or even tote bags, like last month!

image

Sample choice will happen on May
27th for subscribers (May 26th for Ace members and referrers).

I think I’m going to go for the Skyn Iceland Eye Gels, simply because I need that type of product in my life. If that runs out before I get to it, I’ll give the Coola sunscreen a try because I liked the last Coola sample I received and I could always use more sunscreen.

Which sample(s) are you considering?

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Update: Apparently the Eyeko liner is no longer included in each box because of a problem with customs. Instead, a Marcelle waterproof pencil liner will serve as a replacement.

2 thoughts on “June Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison

  1. Pingback: January 2016 Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison | Just A Primer

Leave a Comment

