April 2015 Birchbox Review

April’s box theme was “Fresh for Spring”, which I loved the idea of. For once I actually did think that my samples reflected the theme — a pale pink lip color, peachy eyeshadows, a lotion to help get rid of leftover winter dryness, something that smells like blueberries (although maybe that’s more summery…), and a rejuvenating face mask.

IMG_20150426_155359463_HDR

IMG_20150426_154709091 IMG_20150426_154713490

The box this month was gorgeous. I definitely need to find a good use for this one because I want to see it every day.

IMG_20150426_154849587_HDR

LAQA & Co. | Sheer Lip Lube Pencil in Honeypot

I received this lip pencil in the shade Menatour last summer. Back then I liked it, but wished I had been sent a color other than bright purple. Now that I have another color, though, I actually much prefer the formula of the purple one. Menatour was sheer and minty, and Honeypot is opaque and waxy. It actually has a texture very similar to that of a crayon.

IMG_20150426_155016341_HDR IMG_20150426_154956301_HDR

POP Beauty | POP Portfolio Eyeshadow Trio in Peach Parfait

This was one of the sample choice options this month, although it ended up in my box by chance. Despite not needing any more eyeshadow, I’m still happy that I received it!

The trio consists of a pale golden-white, a bright peach, and a medium bronze. All three colors are very shimmery. They really “pop” on the eyes, and I love them. The case they come in is super adorable, too, and perfect for travel.

IMG_20150426_155914730_HDR IMG_20150426_155830513_HDR

IMG_20150426_154917649_HDR

Temple Spa | Peace Be Still Calming Face & Body Balm

This is a great body lotion. It has a nice, thick texture and is very moisturizing (which is why I suppose it is called a “balm” instead of a lotion). I used it on my incredibly dry elbows, and in just one night it made them a LOT smoother. What I didn’t love about it was the scent — very herbal. If you liked herbal scents, however, this would be amazing.

Whish | Shave Crave Shaving Cream in Blueberry

This was another sample that I’d already received last summer, except in the Acai Berry scent. I really didn’t like it last summer, but I actually thought it was okay this time around.

IMG_20150426_154819967 IMG_20150426_154830989_HDR

WEI | Manuka Bee Venom Mask

I’m not sure if I’m allergic to bees, so I’m a little afraid to use this. Can anyone offer any advice as to how to test whether I might have an adverse reaction to this product?

Since I haven’t tried it yet, here’s the official description: “This treatment firms, softens, and minimizes fine lines, with a warm tingle as it works.”

IMG_20150426_154744772_HDR

Verdict: Out of my 5 products this month, I loved 1, liked 2, could have done without 1, and disliked 1. I was definitely surprised by this month’s samples. I thought I would like the LAQA lip lube and dislike the shaving cream, but it was actually the opposite.

 

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Leave a Comment

