October 2014 Birchbox Review

Up next in my “catch up with Birchbox reviews” series…October!

It’s so hard to believe that this is my 6th month of receiving Birchboxes! How have these 6 months passed by so quickly?

IMG_20141103_140803152_HDR

This month’s theme was “Fanfare”. The theme description said that it was about being proud of what you’re a fan of and get geekily excited about, as well as ‘taking beauty inspiration from our favorite leading ladies in pop culture’. However, six months in, I’ve pretty much given up on my Birchbox samples fitting the month’s theme. Instead, I’ll do a bit of imagining: Frozen-themed makeup, coconut oil spray as used on Game of Thrones, Geek Chic eyeshadow… even pumpkin products would have been great, like Peter Thomas Roth’s pumpkin enzyme mask.

As it stands, though, I am happy with my October Birchbox, and here’s what I received!

IMG_20141015_173749723_HDR IMG_20141103_141044726_HDR IMG_20141103_141209266_HDR

ModelCo | Party Proof Lipstick in Kitty

This was my sample choice for the month. In the tube it looks like the perfect nude rose for me, but it’s actually almost a baby pink, which was disappointing. Still, it’s a lovely shade and looks good on me, even if it’s not my holy grail MLBB color.

IMG_20141103_140837010

dr. brandt | Pores No More Vacuum Cleaner

This comes out of the tube as a thick gel, and applies so easily. You really don’t need to use very much, especially if you only apply it to part of your face (I only used it on my cheeks and nose). It dries quickly, to a thin translucent-white film. The smell is prevalent, but not too strong, and it does smell nice — a bit like a minty cleaning product.

I left it on for 10 minutes. At the end, my skin felt a little tight, so I applied a moisturizer.

Did it work? I’m not sure. I guess my pores looked a little smaller, but I didn’t feel like it made an enormous difference.

IMG_20141103_140825902_HDR

TONI&GUY | Classic Shine Gloss Serum

I like this a lot! I think this does a good job of getting rid of frizz and smoothing flyaways. It also doesn’t have much of a smell (although what it does have is nice) and you don’t need very much product to get the job done.

I’m amazed that this is actually the full-size product — first, because it looks sample-sized, and second, because that means this product alone is worth $15!

IMG_20141103_140403614_HDR IMG_20141103_140408756_HDR IMG_20141103_140509333 IMG_20141103_140525495_HDR

Atelier Cologne | Absolute in Santal Carmin

  • Top notes : bergamot from Calabria, limette from Mexico, saffron from India
  • Heart notes : sandalwood from New Caledonia, gaiac wood from India, white musc
  • Base notes : papyrus from India, cedarwood from Texas, vanilla from Madagascar

The packaging for this was so incredibly sophisticated. Yes, it’s only packaging, but I thought it was a nice touch. As for the fragrance itself, I’m on the fence about it. I find that it’s a little dark for everyday use, or even evening use  for me. Still, I’ve heard such great things about Atelier Cologne and it was nice to finally receive one of their samples.

IMG_20141103_140912833_HDR IMG_20141103_140957759_HDR IMG_20141103_141033129

Lord & Berry | Paillettes Eye Pencil

I really don’t need more black eyeliners. I don’t wear eyeliner very often to begin with, and this is the second black eyeliner I’ve gotten from Birchbox. That said, it’s a pretty nice eyeliner. I do like the silver sparkles, and I’m definitely going to try to find an opportunity to wear this.

IMG_20141103_140312498

Verdict: Out of 5 samples this month, I loved 1, liked 2, could have done without 2, and disliked 0. I was really happy to receive the hair serum, and that alone made this box great for me! The addition of a nice lipstick and opportunity to try a perfume and pore mask were just cherries on top.

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Leave a Comment

