April Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison

For those of you not familiar with sample choice, it’s a program that began last August where Birchbox subscribers have the option to select a sample to be included in next month’s box. Each month 3-4 samples are revealed and the sample you pick will replace one of your traditional 5 samples. This month, Birchbox subscribers have the chance to choose from 3 samples, or select a box curated by a guest editor. This is a comparison of those options based on research I’ve done using other blogs and my own calculations. This month I’ve taken all of my images as screenshots from the official Birchbox video.

First, the three sample options. Previously this year Birchbox had been revealing their sample choices along a theme, but this month the theme seems to just be “awesome products”!

image
image
image

The first sample is the Jane Iredale Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain in Forever Pink. It has mixed reviews on makeupalley.com — half the people love the color, but most don’t think its moisturizing enough.

Next is an eyeshadow trio in Peach Parfait from Pop Beauty. These look like three gorgeous neutral colors, and the case is SO adorable. It’s also a perfect size for travel!

The final option is the Jouer Cheek Tint in Petal. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Jouer products!

There are actually TWO curated boxes this month! Both of them are created in partnership with Mad Men.

image

The first box is “The New York Box”. It contains the following:
– Liz Earle Eyebright
– Cargo Water-Resistant Blush in Los Cabos
– Anastasia Beverly Hills Clear Brow Gel Mini
– Beauty Protector Protect & Oil Argan Oil
– Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream in Blueberry

I didn’t think there was anything special about the Whish Shave Crave when I tried it, but a lot of other people seem to like it. The Beauty Protector Oil is nice, but difficult to dispense out of the sample vial. As for the other three products, I’ve heard a lot of good things about them!

image

The second box is “The California Box”. It contains:
– Laqa & Co Lil’ Lip Lube Pencil in Honeypot
– Cynthia Rowley Beauty Brightening Illuminator
– Clean Original perfume sample
– 12 Benefits Instant Healthy Hair Treatment
– Not Soap, Radio Body Wash in Bathing with Sharks

I loved the formula of the Laqa & Co Lip Lube that I received last year, and this seems like a pretty color. Many of the other products are new to me, but Cynthia Rowley always puts out good products.

Also, the April boxes have a really cute pattern!

image

Although the New York box looks pretty awesome, I’ve already tried the Beauty Protector Oil and I currently don’t need any more eye care products. Instead, I’m going to be choosing the Jane Iredale Lip and Cheek Stain this month, which I’m excited to try!

Which sample(s) are you considering?

Update: I didn’t get to my email quickly enough, but I was able to get on a waitlist for the Jane Iredale Stain.

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

4 thoughts on “April Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison

Leave a Comment

