Nail Update #3 & Questions for You!

Hi guys!

Today, I have questions for you about nail care and solutions.

Since starting to grow out my nails 2 months ago, I have been so happy with their progress. However, I can now detect a host of various problems with my nails that I can’t seem to find much help for online. I’m really hoping you’ll be able to help me solve some of them!

There are 5 main problems:

1. Some of my nails are very flat; they aren’t developing the curved plate that my other nails are.

P1420765

2. The tips of many of my nails curve upwards, instead of growing out straight.

P1420766

3. The coloration on the free edge of my nails are extremely varied.

P1420768 P1420770

4. My nails are always flecked with white spots, which makes me think they’re dehydrated.

P1420767 P1420774

5. The edge of one of my nails looks like it’s splitting vertically.

P1420769

Do you think these problems are ones that need special care, or will they sort themselves out as my nails grow more? On Amazon, I found a TON of options for moisturizing nails, but I’m not even sure that additional hydration is what I need. Any advice?

As far as potential solutions go, right now I’m looking at 3 main categories:

Oils: Jojoba Oil, Essie Apricot cuticle oil, Gelish cuticle oil, Cuccio cuticle oil, Sally Hansen VitaSurge cuticle gel.

Cuticle Butters: Cuccio cuticle butter stick, Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream.

Nail Polish Treatments: Essie grow stronger base coat, Skin Food nail vita base coat, Nailtiques Formula 1 protein polish, Nailtiques Formula 2 protein polish, Sally Hansen VitaSurge strength gel.

Have you tried any of these? Which do you recommend for me?

6 thoughts on “Nail Update #3 & Questions for You!

  1. I had this problem my nails were really flat, still is a problem on my right hand. I used Opi Nail Envy, I used it constantly, I never let them in water naked. I was constantly using cuticle butter and oil and now my left hand nails have really curved. Hope this helps.

    • Thanks! I’ve been torn about whether it’s better for them to be naked or have polish on them, and I think I need to go for constantly wearing polish because I put my hands in water a lot.

  2. When I used to try and grow out my nails, they were all fine except for my index fingers. The nails on both index fingers would flatten out and drive me crazy so I always had to cut them before they could get too long. My nails don’t split but they peel for some reason. I decided to try the Nailtiques formula 2 probably about 6 months ago, maybe a bit longer. I absolutely love it! My index fingers curve like the rest of my nails and they don’t peel as much so that’s nice! As for the oils and cuticle butters…I have tried the Essie Apricot Oil, it is nice but I like butters more than oils. My preferred cuticle butters are from Fortune Cookie Soap. They smell awesome and they really help moisturize. I like to put it on before bed just because it can be a little greasy so that way I don’t have to touch anything, I can just sleep!

    • Thanks, Kaily! I don’t drink nearly as much water as I should… it’s something I really need to work on. An Essie nail hardener is currently on its way from Amazon, so I’m hoping that’ll help!

Leave a Comment

