The Rubbing Alcohol Method

The other day, I experienced my very first broken eyeshadow pan. I had carelessly left an e.l.f. quad palette on the edge of the sink, and my boyfriend accidentally knocked it off. Luckily only one of the four shadows broke — I’m still not sure how that happened! I was a little disappointed, though, because the pan that broke was my favorite out of the quad.

IMG_20150314_175816130_HDR

Broken eyeshadow.

However, this gave me an opportunity to try a method I’ve heard a lot about for repairing broken eyeshadows.

A quick recap of the method:

1. Counterintuitively smash up the eyeshadow even further.

I decided to skip this step because the eyeshadow wasn’t that broken. I just broke down some of the larger chunks into a finer crumble.

IMG_20150314_180038619

Slightly wetted with rubbing alcohol.

2. Place several drops of rubbing alcohol into the pan.

I didn’t have a dropper to do this with, so I actually used a paper towel! I saturated a scrap of paper towel and squeezed it carefully to drip a bit of rubbing alcohol onto my slightly crushed eyeshadow.

IMG_20150314_180059129

Applying pressure to the pan.

3. Use a coin the size of your pan to re-press the eyeshadow.

I used a quarter and wrapped it in a tissue. Then I gently pressed the quarter into the pan for about 30 seconds to a minute.

IMG_20150314_180158145

Newly pressed eyeshadow.

4. Let dry.

I set my pan out on a windowsill for a day to fully dry out.

IMG_20150314_180254160

Drying…

So, did it work?

IMG_20150315_191252827

Dried eyeshadow.

Yes!!!

IMG_20150315_191334071_HDR

Swatch of repaired eyeshadow.

My fixed eyeshadow is just as beautiful of a formula and color as it was before. It definitely feels good as new!

After pressing it with the coin, I realized that the first step is actually very important. Because I didn’t crush it up, mine ended up with an uneven, pocked surface. However, this didn’t impact the final result; it’s just not as attractive looking as before. Overall, I’m pretty pleased with how this method worked out!

IMG_20150315_192026158

Back in the quad where it belongs.

Have you ever used this method? Was this post helpful to you?

Leave a Comment

