The Body Shop Haul ~ Cyber Monday

As I may have mentioned in the past, I love The Body Shop. I especially love it when they have sales, because it means that I can buy more amazing things for the same amount of money. In fact, I love their sales so much that I only ever buy from TBS during their sales 😉

IMG_20141207_245720843

In any case, they were having a 40% off sale at the end of November, and I jumped on it, buying 6 products. “But Abigail, there are 7 products in your picture!” you might say. That’s because TBS added a free gift if you spent over $50. The best part is, you were able to select your gift from several options! I chose the Shea Body Butter, which normally costs $20.

IMG_20141207_245538989 IMG_20141207_245448352_HDR

Satsuma Body Polish ($10)

I’ve owned the Satsuma Body Polish for a few years now, and I absolutely love it. The smell is extremely invigorating, and the polish itself does a good job of cleaning my skin. I was almost out of my old tube, which is why I bought this one.

Vanilla Brulee Body Polish ($10)

I was hoping that the Vanilla Brulee Body Polish would be a good alternative for cozy nights when I don’t feel like being invigorated, but while the formula is the same, I’m not a fan of the smell. It’s way too sweet for me.

IMG_20141207_245604584

Nutriganics Smoothing Day Cream ($11.50)

I wanted to like this product, I really did. It feels fine on my face, and is probably very moisturizing. Unfortunately, I can’t get past the smell. To me it’s reminiscent of fennel, which is the one herb that I hate with a burning passion because it tastes like licorice.

Nutriganics Smoothing Eye Cream ($10.50)

This product, on the other hand, is amazing. Maybe it’s because I use so little at a time, or because it doesn’t get rubbed on my nose, but I can’t detect that this has any smell at all. It is currently working wonders on my dark undereye circles and combating any winter dryness there.

IMG_20141207_245914655 IMG_20141207_245634864 IMG_20141207_010050293 IMG_20141207_010002345_HDR

Mini Brush Kit ($9.50)

I was on the fence about buying this, but as you can see I went for it. I’m still undecided about whether it was a good purchase. As many of the reviews on the TBS website describe, it’s tiny. Tiny tiny. Even after reading reviews and expecting something tiny, I was still surprised at how small it is.

Once I got over the tininess of it, I started to like it. The kit itself is very well thought-out. There’s a small mirror, pockets for each of the brushes, and it velcros shut securely. The velcro can also be used to hold the kit open with the brushes exposed. It’s the brushes themselves that push me onto the fence. The blush brush is pretty inadequate.

IMG_20141207_245415965

For Men Maca Root Shave Cream ($5)

I bought this because my boyfriend’s birthday was coming up, he doesn’t have anything like this, and it has good reviews. It smells good, but I can’t personally comment as to its efficacy.

IMG_20141207_245434077_HDR

Shea Body Butter ($0)

This was also a gift for my boyfriend. I have borrowed it, though, and it’s pretty wonderful. It’s thicker than other TBS body butters that I’ve tried, but is just as amazing at moisturizing. It also has a much more pleasant smell. The smell is slightly nutty and wholesome.

Love Your Body Card ($10)

Unlike most store loyalty cards, TBS’s Love Your Body cards aren’t free. They cost $10 and are only good for a year, but they do save you 10% on every purchase you make and get you a $10 credit in your birthday month. You also earn points that can get you store credit to spend. My previous Love Your Body card expired in August, and since I was buying $56.50 worth of product, buying the card saved me $5.65 and it’s therefore already halfway on its way to paying for itself.

 

The main trouble with ordering online is that smell is such a personal thing, and what one person loves might be hated by another. Also, some products descriptions don’t expound on what that products smells like (for example, the Nutriganics skincare line). Luckily, TBS has a wonderful return policy. I haven’t been able to get to a physical store yet, because there’s not one located nearby, but I have the Vanilla Brulee polish, the Nutriganics day cream, and a couple of items from other purchases tucked away to be returned in the near future.

3 thoughts on “The Body Shop Haul ~ Cyber Monday

  1. The Vanilla Brulee Body Polish smelled like cookies to me or very close to the their Brazil Nut stuff. I think I preferred the fruity scents more. And Wow! Those brushes do look very tiny for travel size. Are the bristles good quality at least?

    x Carol
    intrice.blogspot.com

    • I haven’t gotten the chance to use the brush set yet since I haven’t traveled anywhere that requires packing light, but the bristles feel okay. Not as soft as I would like, but that might come with use.

  2. Pingback: My 15 Favorite Products & Discoveries of 2015 | Just A Primer

Leave a Comment

