February Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison

For those of you not familiar with sample choice, it’s a program that began last August where Birchbox subscribers have the option to select a sample to be included in next month’s box. Each month 3-4 samples are revealed and the sample you pick will replace one of your traditional 5 samples. This month, Birchbox subscribers have the chance to choose from 3 samples, or select a box curated by a guest editor. This is a comparison of those options based on research I’ve done using other blogs and my own calculations. This month I’ve taken all of my images as screenshots from the official Birchbox video.

First, the three sample options. Last month these were all lotions, so I’m glad to see some variety again! The three sample choice options are all completely new samples, which I’m also definitely excited about.

wpid-wp-1422244309358.png wpid-wp-1422244305419.pngwpid-wp-1422244302168.png

Up first is the Laura Geller Beauty Glamlash Dramatic Volumizing Mascara. Full size is $24 for 0.28 oz. I’m not sure what the sample size is, but if we assume 0.1 oz, then this is worth $8.50. It has pretty good reviews on both Birchbox and Ulta’s websites.

Next, Marcelle’s Gentle Make-up Remover for Sensitive Eyes. Full size is $15 for 150 ml, and this is a 50 ml sample, making this worth $5. Reviews on Birchbox and Makeup Alley are split between absolutely loving it and calling it a holy grail product,  and thinking it’s too oily and doesn’t remove mascara well enough.

Finally, there’s a Moisturizing Sea Salt Spray which is a brand new release from an unnamed celebrity hairstylist. I can’t even hazard a guess at who the hairstylist is, or what the cost of the sea salt spray will be, but the sample size is 1 oz. Prices for other sea salt sprays on Birchbox.com range from $2-$6 per ounce.

The final option is the Guest Editor box. This month, it’s curated by Rent the Runway.

wpid-wp-1422244291493.png wpid-wp-1422244295289.png

 

It includes the following products:

  • Fekkai Dry Shampoo
  • Not Soap, Radio Body Wash (in The Stuff That Cupid Dips His Arrows In)
  • Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner (in assorted colors)
  • theBalm Read My Lips Lip Gloss (in Bam, which is a rosy pink)
  • Derma e Anti Wrinkle Exfoliating Cleanser

I intended to do a value analysis for this box, but then I got lazy and didn’t feel like looking up sample volumes. I might update this post if I feel more like it tomorrow…. but frankly, if you like this box, you’re probably going to go for it regardless of the values of the included samples.

Personally, I think I might go for the mascara. The curated box looks really good this month, and I would love to try the Fekkai dry shampoo, but I don’t need another body wash or a lip gloss. Also, I received the Sumita eyeliner in my January box and I wasn’t a huge fan of the formula — I thought it was a bit too soft. I just ordered a travel-sized makeup remover from Yves Rocher, so it probably doesn’t make sense to choose the Marcelle makeup remover, either.

I’m definitely attracted by the sea salt spray, especially since I’ve never tried one before. However, I also haven’t been paying much attention to my hair lately, and so I probably don’t need to add another hair product to my current unused litany. I also don’t really need the mascara, seeing as I already have two open ones and I only wear mascara about once every two weeks…but I do think the reviews of it look good enough to have a third open mascara.

What sample are you most attracted by this month?

 

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Leave a Comment

