Perfume Review: Chloé Love Story

Storytime: Back in December my uncle wanted to buy me some perfume, but since smell is such a particular thing, he took me with him to pick it out. The trip was unexpected, and so I hadn’t given any thought to what I might want. We ended up going to Macy’s, which has a lovely perfume counter. An employee took us in and gave us the complete tour, taking the time to figure out what I might like and letting me smell pretty much every perfume they have. I ended up indecisive between two perfumes, one by Chloé and Daisy Dream by Marc Jacobs. It was only after I had selected the Chloé fragrance that I learned it was brand new, just released last September. Another perk of shopping at Macy’s: since I had loved Daisy Dream so much, our tour guide threw in a rollerball of it for free with our purchase! Along with a mini of the new Bottega Veneta perfume and a sample of J’Adore by Dior. 

Capture

I fell in love with Chloé Love Story because it somehow manages to smell both lightly floral and deeply sexy. The main note is orange blossom, with jasmine at the heart and cedar as the grounding note. I think orange blossom is a pretty unique choice to focus on — I certainly own nothing else like this. The smell isn’t quite as long-lived as I would like, and I find that I have to refresh it about halfway through the day. However, it’s so amazing of a fragrance that I don’t mind at all. I can imagine myself wearing this throughout the year, this single scent carrying me through both night and day of every single season.


Now, can we talk about the bottle? I’m glad I didn’t see the bottle before choosing this perfume, because the bottle is so incredibly beautiful that I would have picked it regardless of what the perfume actually smelled like. Love Story is inspired by Parisian romance, and so the bottle is modeled after the love padlocks on the Pont des Arts, which is one of the main bridges in Paris.

IMG_20140114_163918012_HDR

I love the look of the pleated glass, the ritual of rotating the golden arch and pulling off the cap to open it, and the femininity of the attached ribbon. The bottle is so beautiful that I was worried about breaking it in transit or at school, so I actually purchased a perfume atomizer specifically to transport some of it to college with me. This is also great because it means I can carry it around with me all the time!

Finally, the advertising:

This is another thing that I didn’t know anything about until I had already brought Love Story home with me, but exploring the publicity around this perfume makes me love it all the more. The advertising campaign focuses on a whirlwind romance on the streets and in the gardens of Paris. French actress Clémence Poésy is the face of this perfume, and I think she does a lovely job of embodying it. There’s a video that I adore the background music of (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDi5wyHABb4), and a website full of fairytale photos (http://chloelovestory.tumblr.com/).

http://chloelovestory.tumblr.com/post/105968986070/andreaiacalisto-discovers-her-chloe-love-story

I have worn my Chloé perfume almost every day since receiving it as a gift (except for the days I’ve worn Daisy Dream!) The first day I wore it out of the house, a saleswoman in a stationary store told me that she loved my smell. My boyfriend loves it. I love it. What more could I ask for?

For a more flowery description of the smell…. “Floral, fresh, and sexy, Love Story is the new unforgettable essence of seduction from Chloé. Orange flower oil opens the fragrance with a radiant, luminous, and intoxicating characteristic like the flush of new love. The seductive and joyful scent of stephanotis jasmine, often used in wedding bouquets, gives the fragrance its heart. Finally the scent is grounded by the sensual diffusion, strength, and freshness of cedar wood, creating a unified and complex base that endures.”

If you want to buy Love Story online, Sephora has it here in 3 different sizes: http://www.sephora.com/love-story-P393664?skuId=1659416. However, it’s the same price at Sephora as it was at Macy’s, and so if you want a great shopping experience and some extra freebies thrown in, I would recommend going in person to pick it up!

Note: First two photos taken by me; final three photos from Chloé Love Story official publicity campaign.

3 thoughts on “Perfume Review: Chloé Love Story

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Outfit Ideas | Just A Primer

  2. Pingback: 2015 on Just a Primer | Just A Primer

  3. Pingback: My 15 Favorite Products & Discoveries of 2015 | Just A Primer

Leave a Comment

