Empties #1

Welcome to my first empties post! In case you’re new to the beauty blogging world, an empties post is where I gather up all of the products I’ve used up (“emptied”) in the past several months and write my final thoughts about them. I’ve thought quite a bit about how to organize this, but since this is my first one it’s still going to be a work in progress! This post is entirely skincare products, because that’s what I use the most of. And so…

IMG_20140519_033616988

Ushuaia | Relaxing Body Wash in Ylang (~$3)

This is one of the body washes I used while in Paris. I loved the smell of it, and it felt nice on my skin, too – the combination of the scent and the feel definitely supported the ‘relaxing’ name.This bottle lasted about 2 months, which is impressive for a body wash.

Repurchase? If I were still living in Paris, I would probably repurchase it! That is, if I could bear to not buy all of the other lovely-smelling body washes… at the very least, I certainly recommend it.

What am I using now?  I’m using a moisturizing body wash from Olay that smells of orchids.

IMG_20140710_071008740

Caress | Exfoliating Body Wash (~$5 for full size)

I loved this. It smells like brown sugar. It does a good job of exfoliating my skin. And it smells like brown sugar.

This small bottle lasted an enormously long time, but I also only used it occasionally. All in all, I had this for almost 9 months before running out.

Repurchase? Yes! I was actually trying to hurry through another exfoliating body wash specifically so that I could repurchase this, and now I have.

IMG_20140729_054640136

Dove | Intensive Repair Shampoo (~$5 for full size)

This was a pretty normal shampoo, as far as I could tell.

Repurchase? No, because while I’m sure it’s a fine shampoo, my current shampoo costs just 89 cents.

What am I using now? 89 cent shampoo, specifically VO5 in Freesia.

wpid-wp-1420924608888.jpeg

VO5 | Tea Therapy Healthful Green Tea Shampoo ($0.89)

This was a pretty normal shampoo. It’s also probably my 5th or 7th or 10th bottle of this particular shampoo because it’s the cheapest shampoo there is.

Repurchase? Already have. Lots of times.

What am I using now? VO5 Shampoo in Herbal Escapes Free Me Freesia

IMG_20140526_102915130

Aveeno | Daily Moisturizing Lotion (~$3)

I liked this lotion a lot, which surprised me! Usually I am in love with fragrance, but I actually liked that this lotion was unscented. It was definitely moisturizing, too. I don’t know if I liked it enough to repurchase it, though — there’s a lot of other lotions out there that are similarly good.

Repurchase? Maybe. I did like this, and I might return to it later on.

What am I using now?  Jergens Soothing Aloe Relief Skin Cooling Moisturizer. I don’t love it, though, and so I’m still looking for a new body lotion. Luckily I’m almost out, so I’ll be able to try something new!

IMG_20141024_170602396_HDR

The Body Shop | Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream ($16.50 for full size)

I loved this. Full review here.

Repurchase? Yes! I’ve actually already repurchased this in the full size. Note: I purchased the full size on sale, so it was only $9.90. Since the Body Shop runs such frequent 40% off sales, I don’t think I would ever buy this full price.

IMG_20141024_170501932

The Body Shop | Seaweed Clarifying Night Treatment ($20 for full size)

I didn’t love this. Full review here.

Repurchase? Nope.

IMG_20140928_140848874 IMG_20140928_140843848_HDR

Olay Fresh Effects | {Dew Over!} Hydrating Gel Moisturizer(~$12)

I liked this moisturizer a lot. If I hadn’t discovered the Body Shop Seaweed moisturizer before running out of this, I would definitely have repurchased it.

It smells like white tea and honeysuckle, as described. I really liked the gel texture — like the Body Shop Seaweed moisturizer, it absorbed into my skin really easily and had the perfect light weight for summer.

Repurchase? Maybe eventually.

wpid-wp-1420924599360.jpeg

Pantene Normal-Thick Moisture Renewal Conditioner (~$7)

I have been using Pantene conditioner since middle school, and I think it’s the best conditioner on the planet. It’s thick and moisturizing, makes my hair so soft and easy to brush, and pretty cheap as far as conditioners go.

The only slightly negative thing I have to say about Pantene is that I haven’t noticed any difference between the different types of conditioner they have. This one claims to be especially moisturizing for thick hair, but it doesn’t seem to be any more moisturizing than their other formulas. However, since I love the way Pantene conditioners make my hair look and feel, I really don’t care about the formulas not seeming to vary between different lines.

Repurchase? Sort of. I’ll always keep buying Pantene, but now I’m using their Anti-Breakage Reinforcing Conditioner.

 

What did you think of this format? I would really appreciate any feedback you have on how to improve this type of post!

Since I waited so long before posting this, I’ll probably have another empties post soon — so keep your eyes peeled for it!

Leave a Comment

