January Birchbox Sample Choice Comparison

For those of you not familiar with sample choice, it’s a program that began in August where Birchbox subscribers have the option to select a sample to be included in the next month’s box. Each month 3-4 samples are revealed and the sample you pick from that selection will replace one of your traditional 5 samples. This month, Birchbox subscribers have the chance to choose from three samples, or select one of two curated boxes.

First up, the three sample options. They’re all lotions this month, which personally makes me sad because I don’t need any more body lotion, and none of them seem that new and amazing.
image

Essentiel Elements Wake Up Rosemary Body Lotion
This is the sample choice I’m personally leaning toward. I know I just said that I didn’t need more body lotion, but rosemary is such a fresh scent that I think this could be worthwhile to try.

TOCCA Crema da Mano – Hand Cream in Cleopatra
I have a Tocca hand cream in Florence, and it’s the most luxurious thing — a creamy lotion with a heavily fragrant scent. I briefly tried the Cleopatra hand cream at a Sephora, but I didn’t love the scent. However, if you like grapefruit and cucumber, this could be for you!

Naobay Body Radiance Lotion
I’ve heard great things about this lotion.

Or, alternatively, you can pick one of the curated boxes. The first is curated by the Birchbox editors, and the second is curated by exercise duo Tone It Up.

image

Relax & Recharge box:
Manna Kadar Lip Locked – All of Me
Perlier Body Butter – Lavender
Balance Me Wonder Eye Cream
When Travelmate Sheetmask
Briogio Don’t Despair, Repair!
Teapigs Tea Bags (Licorice & Peppermint, Chamomile Flowers)

I’ve received the Balance Me Wonder Eye Cream as a Birchbox sample before, and it’s great. The sample tube lasted me about 3 months, and it has a great light rose smell.

I haven’t heard the best things about Manna Kadar’s Lip Locked’s lasting power, but the Perlier Body butter and the Briogio hair mask have rave reviews.

I can’t tell if this box includes all three teabag flavors, but I think it probably does. If it does (and even if it doesn’t), this box is definitely worth it! It has 6 samples, which is really nice, and all of them seem awesome.

image

Tone it Up box:
Coastal Scents Eyeshadow Palette – Latte
Aqua Reveal Satin Bright Soft Water Peel
Klorane Dry Shampoo
Whish Body Butter – Lavender
Coola ER Plus Radical

I haven’t tried or even heard of most of these, but I have heard amazing things about the Klorane Dry Shampoo.

I have a bunch of Coastal Scents eyeshadow, and I love all of it so far. Their sample packaging is also actually suitable for traveling with (it’s plastic, but not flimsy). This quad should be this range of matte/satin browns with a shimmery golden taupe:

image

 

Sample choice begins on December 23rd, and I know I’ll be watching attentively for my email so I can get my first choice!

 

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Leave a Comment

