This year, I am Thankful for…

Every Thanksgiving, I make a list of things I am grateful for. Some years, the list is a hundred items long (when it’s that long, it usually includes things like “how pretty the moonlight looks when it reflects off snow”). This year, my list is more focused on the basics; the things that I am really, deeply grateful for.

1. My loving, supportive family. My family, especially my parents, have been with me every step of the way. I think they raised me in the best way possible, introduced me to so many cultural things and new perspectives, and allowed me to have some amazing experiences. Most importantly, they are supportive of me through any decisions I have to make, and I know every instant just how much they love me.

2. My loving, supportive boyfriend. My boyfriend has been with me through thick and thin, supportive of me during both tough times and easy ones, and I can always tell how much he loves me.

3. My wonderful friends. Sometimes I wish that my friends had more free time or reached out to me more. Sometimes I complain about not seeing them enough. But they’re my friends for a reason, and I love them with all of my heart. They’re there when I need them most, and that’s what counts.

4. My education. I love learning, I love classes, and I love all the schools I’ve gone to. I am so grateful that I’ve gotten the opportunity to continue my education studying what I want to study, and more.

5. Financial stability. This is what has made possible my education, the way I was raised, and the way I currently live my life. I have a part time job, and so beyond tuition and housing I am able to be self-sufficient in my day-to-day life.

6. My health and the health of my family and close friends. I have had extremely good health so far in my life, and I have not been touched closely by death. I consider these to be among the greatest gifts it is possible to receive.

7. Kindness. Kindness extended from one person to another, as simple as that.

Happy (belated) Thanksgiving!

Leave a Comment

