My Evening Skincare Routine

With my college student life, I try to keep things simple. I don’t have the money for 20 products, or the time, or even the sink space. To go along with my hectic, ever-changing life, I have multiple different evening routines that I use in different scenarios. To simplify things, I’ll describe a 1-minute routine and a longer mix-and-match routine.

IMG_20141116_130009595_HDR

The “I’m exhausted and just want to sleep” routine:

  1. Wash my face.
  2. Moisturize (usually).

Most of the time, though, I’m not drop-dead tired. So, when I have more time, this is my routine. I don’t do every step every night, but this is the maximum number of steps that I do.

1. Cleanse. The very first thing I do is to wash my face. I’ve been rotating through 3 different cleansers at the moment. The Body Shop Seaweed Deep Cleansing Facial Wash has been my cleanser on most days. C.booth derma 24 Daily Vitamins Healthy Skin Facial Cleanser is for days when I want something gentler. And my recently-purchased Neutrogena Nautrals Fresh Cleansing + Makeup Remover is for when I’m wearing really hard-to-remove makeup.

IMG_20141116_125554228_HDR

2. Exfoliate. Every few days, I use an exfoliator. I’m currently working through my c.booth derma 24 Vitamin C Micro Delivery Facial Scrub and Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator. I also recently purchased the Olay Fresh Effects {Out of this Swirled!} Deep Pore Clean + Exfoliating Scrub, which is gentle enough for me to use on a daily basis if I feel like it.

IMG_20141116_125638814_HDR

3. Mask. This isn’t something I do very frequently because usually I simply forget about it. But when I do remember this, I use either Freeman’s Avocado & Oatmeal Clay Mask or their Dead Sea Minerals Anti-Stress Mask.

IMG_20141116_125700971

4. Treat. If I’m experiencing breakouts, I’ll rub St. Ives Green Tea Gel Cleanser along my chin and/or forehead, which are usually the affected areas.

5. Toner. The only toner I currently own is The Body Shop Seaweed Clarifying Toner. I’m actually in the market for a new toner right now because I don’t really like the drying sensation this one has — that alone has made this a pretty rarely-performed step.

IMG_20141116_125834435

6. Treat. When I feel like I need it, I add in a serum before moisturizing. Mine is The Body Shop Nutriganics Drops of Youth.

7. Moisturize. I recently rediscovered and have been using my Yves Rocher Camomile Day/Night Moisturizing Skin Cream. Sometimes, I use an even thicker face cream, like Lumene Pure Radiance Night Cream. This cream is awfully thick, though, so I rarely use it. I finish with an undereye cream. I am currently using the Balance Me Wonder Eye Cream.

IMG_20141116_125814086

The photo at the beginning of this post showed all of the products I mentioned, but this is a much more typical example of what I will use on a given night:

IMG_20141116_130135361_HDR

A couple of sample routines:

– Cleanse. St. Ives Green Tea Gel Cleanser. Moisturize.

– Cleanse. Exfoliate. Toner. Moisturize.

– Cleanse. Drops of Youth. 

– Cleanse. Exfoliate. Mask. Drops of Youth. Moisturize. 

So, there it is! I can do my “exhausted” routine in under a minute, but given my druthers, my evening routine lasts closer to 5-10 minutes because I like taking my time and using this as an opportunity to relax.

Is there anything I mentioned that you would particularly like a review of?

This is part one of a three-part series on my daily routines.

Part Two: My Morning Skincare Routine

Part Three: My Everyday Makeup Routine

3 thoughts on “My Evening Skincare Routine

    • I’ve been looking for one that’s hydrating, because when I use the toner I do see small amounts of makeup come off on the pad I use to apply it. One of the ones I’m considering is from Yves Rocher’s Hydra Vegetal line — I love Yves Rocher, but at the same time I am reluctant to get it online without reading reviews first.

Leave a Comment

