Princess Anna Makeup Tutorial

For Halloween this year, I went as Princess Anna from Frozen. I love Frozen, and think there are a lot of similarities between Anna and me (although part of the reason I chose Anna is because I was able to cobble together her outfit from things already in my wardrobe!).

IMG_20141101_245024903-cropped ?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I’d like to share with you the makeup I did for this costume. I consulted a couple of YouTube videos to develop this, notably tutorials by Alex Poletti and dope2111.

I know it’s after Halloween, but I hope that this look is simple and everyday enough that you could wear it any day and feel like you’re secretly channeling Anna. My main goal was to create something that reflected Anna but that I would still feel comfortable wearing. Therefore, I didn’t add any makeup that I would never wear as myself. This means that, if you normally wear foundation or fake eyelashes, you should feel free to include those into this look and make it your own!

IMG_20141101_245413588_HDR IMG_20141101_245742688_HDR

This is the first “look” I’ve ever done, so please forgive any beauty mishaps or unclear instructions (and give me suggestions to improve in the comments!). I tried to keep the instructions generalizable, and so I described product types and colors instead of just naming specific products. The complete list of products that I used is at the end.

IMG_20141101_163626054_HDR

from http://imgarcade.com/1/rosemaling-frozen/from http://imgarcade.com/1/rosemaling-frozen/from http://imgarcade.com/1/rosemaling-frozen/from http://imgarcade.com/1/rosemaling-frozen/from http://imgarcade.com/1/rosemaling-frozen/

IMG_20141101_164446274_HDR IMG_20141101_164432809_HDR

Since I’m a little klutzy, I started out with my eye makeup. First step was to apply an eyeshadow primer all over my lids. Since Anna’s look is very natural, with pinks and browns, I used a shimmery rose-beige shade on the lid, and a shimmery dark brown shade in the crease and a little bit up into the brow. I then blended these with a blending brush, which made the look a little softer and got rid of a lot of the glitter in these eyeshadows.

IMG_20141101_165343576

I put on a layer of mascara, then black eyeliner in a clean, thick line. As I mentioned, I’m a bit klutzy, so I cleaned up some fallout and stray mascara before moving on to the rest of my face.

I used a primer all over my face, applying it with a triangular sponge. I then used the same sponge to apply a BB Cream to even out my skin tone. I don’t “do” my brows, but I did run a clear brow gel through them to give them a little more definition.

 IMG_20141101_163912325_HDR IMG_20141101_163904740 IMG_20141101_165606379_HDR

I used a matte bronzer (in the first photo — it looks shimmery, but the shimmer doesn’t show up on my skin) to do some very simple contouring along my jawline. Next I pulled out a rosy pink blush (second photo, third from the left) to brush over the apples of my cheeks and up towards my ears. I picked this shade because it’s the color my cheeks actually turn when I’m out in the cold. I applied it much heavier than usual to emphasize the chilly, windblown effect that living in a snow-covered kingdom would have. I also dusted a little bit of blush on the tip of my nose. Then, I dabbed a tiny bit of pink-toned highlighter along my cheekbones and under the arch of my brows. I completed my face with a dusting of finishing powder.

IMG_20141101_165659215_HDR IMG_20141101_165650111

I deliberated a lot over what lip color to wear. I initially was thinking of going with a bright pink gloss, but I didn’t like how shiny it looked. Then I tried a matte pink lipstick. I ended up using a matte dusty rose lipstick (on the right in above swatches). In retrospect, I would have gone with a satin dusty pink lipstick instead (on the left in above swatches).

Finally, I added glitter to the edges of my eye makeup, because…when else can I wear glitter out in public? I’m sure lots of people can, but I’m not one of them. Below is my completed eye look (photos unfortunately taken when I got back from the party, not before I left).

IMG_20141101_245552141 IMG_20141101_245654333

For my hair, I brushed through an anti-frizz serum, then braided it into pigtails. If I’d put a little more forethought into this costume, I would have bought some white hairspray dye and dyed a segment of my hair white like Anna’s.

IMG_20141101_245809563_HDR

As for my costume, I wore a bright blue skirt (H&M), black boots (Merrell Captiva), a black tanktop (be inspired) with a teal dress shirt underneath (borrowed from my boyfriend), and a pink and black infinity scarf. To top the look off, I put on snowflake earrings.

wpid-img_20141101_191121386.jpg  wpid-wp-1414883553129.jpeg

wpid-wp-1414883545255.jpeg

I wish my skirt had been longer and I’d had a tanktop that I would be okay puffy-painting with rosemaling, but people did recognize me so I would call my costume a success!

IMG_20141101_164211491_HDR

Products Used for Eyes:
Urban Decay | Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original
e.l.f. | Mineral Eyeshadow in Natural
Coastal Scents | Mineral Eyeshadow in Nightingale
Make Up Forever | Smokey Extravagant Mascara
Kat Von D | Tattoo Liner in Trooper
Milani | Crystal Eyez Sparkling Eyeshadow in Lovely & Luminous

IMG_20141101_163850677_HDR

Products Used for Face:
Rimmel | Stay Matte Primer
Rimmel | BB Cream in Light
e.l.f. | Wet Gloss Lash and Brow Clear Mascara
e.l.f. | Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder in St. Lucia
Estee Lauder | Tender Blush in 102 Pink Kiss
e.l.f. | Shimmering Facial Whip in Lilac Petal
e.l.f. | Mineral Booster in Shimmer

IMG_20141101_165453881_HDR

Products Used for Lips:
Make Up For Ever | Rouge Artist Natural Lipstick in N9 Copper Pink (matte dusty rose)
Yves Rocher | Moisturizing Cream Lipstick in Rose Damas (satin dusty pink)

IMG_20141101_163713331

Products Used for Hair:
TONI&GUY | Classic Shine Gloss Serum
Also pictured: my contacts and contact solution.

If you guys have any feedback on this look, I’d love to hear it!

4 thoughts on “Princess Anna Makeup Tutorial

  1. Hi Abigail! 😀 Great walkthrough of how to put together the Anna look. I think the final result looks fantastic. You make a very cute Anna. The snowflake earrings were a nice touch.

    x Carol
    intrice.blogspot.com

Leave a Comment

