The Body Shop Seaweed Skincare Line Review

I bought this kit over the summer because it looked promising (and was on sale), and after 3 months of using it I think I can finally give an opinion.

IMG_20140706_204446219

The Seaweed skincare line has lots of products, and this tester kit contains 4 of them: the Deep Cleansing Facial Wash, the Clarifying Toner, the Mattifying Day Cream, and the Clarifying Night Treatment. The mini products come in a blue mesh bag.

IMG_20140706_204311838

The entire line has a rather “clean” smell. It vaguely smells like seaweed, but like seaweed that’s still growing in the ocean, not seaweed that’s lying on the beach or has been cooked to eat.

The packaging is also nice. I love the color theme — the translucent plastic and blue patterned labels look nice sitting on my sink, and definitely reflect the essence of the products inside.

IMG_20141024_170442265_HDR IMG_20141024_170407302_HDR

Seaweed Deep Cleansing Facial Wash

This is a pretty basic liquid face wash. It smells wonderful, as do all the other products, successfully cleans my makeup off, and rinses off easily. I like the smooth texture of it, and a little bit goes a long way.

If I get it in my eyes it stings a little, and since I’m pretty careless I will not be repurchasing it. However, I will definitely use up the rest of the bottle. This bottle has also lasted an impressively long time — this photo was taken earlier today, and I’ve used it once a day almost every single day since the beginning of July.

IMG_20141024_170425396

Seaweed Clarifying Toner

This is the only toner I’ve ever tried, and so I don’t have anything to compare it against. I haven’t been using it very frequently because it feels a little burn-y as it dries off sometimes, as if it’s tugging at my skin as it evaporates.

It does clean a little bit of residual makeup off, but I won’t be repurchasing it. Right now I don’t really have the need for a toner in my routine, and if I do someday, then I would want to try a different one. I will still probably use this occasionally, but at this rate it’ll take me over a whole year to go through this small bottle.

IMG_20141024_170602396_HDR

Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream

This cream is very, very light — it’s almost like a gel moisturizer. The texture is my favorite thing about it. It feels so light, and a little goes a long way.

I have actually already repurchased this. I ran out of the miniature tub in mid-September and since the Body Shop had a 40% off sale starting the next day, I immediately ordered the full size.

IMG_20141024_170501932

Seaweed Clarifying Night Treatment

This was the first product to run out, after about 2 months of near-daily use as a nighttime moisturizer. Frankly, I’m not even really sure what it did. “Clarifying treatment” implies skin-improving, but I didn’t notice any difference. It was also a little stickier than I would like and didn’t spread easily, so therefore unlike the rest of the products a little did not go very far.

I didn’t see an impact from this product, and so I won’t be repurchasing this, either.

IMG_20141024_170656106

Overall, I was impressed by what I’ve seen of the seaweed line so far. I’d definitely consider purchasing some of the other items in it, like the Purifying Facial Cleanser or the Pore-Cleansing Facial Exfoliator. Especially if they have the same refreshing smell!

The Body Shop is constantly having online sales with free shipping, and so I would definitely recommend waiting until one comes up before purchasing. I bought this set on 30% off sale, which is the cheapest I’ve seen it so far.

One thought on “The Body Shop Seaweed Skincare Line Review

  1. Pingback: 2015 on Just a Primer | Just A Primer

Leave a Comment

