July 2014 Birchbox Review

The first of many belated Birchbox reviews… This month’s theme was “Power Up,” and while I’m not sure exactly what that means, I think the main aspect of the Power Up theme was the Women’s Health subscription and challenges supplement, rather than the actual samples.

IMG_20140715_225809660 IMG_20140715_225615922

IMG_20140811_231421004_HDR

Balance Me | Wonder Eye Cream

I’ve been using this for about 4 weeks at night before I go to bed, and I do think the skin under my eyes feels a little plumper when I wake up. The cream is very light, soaks in immediately, and doesn’t leave my skin or fingers feeling at all greasy. I love the smell, too — it smells faintly of roses. This sample is also the most generous I’ve received. I’ve used just a little bit before going to bed almost every day since getting it, and it feels like there’s still quite a bit left.

*Update: it is now mid-October, and I’m still using this same sample of eye cream!

IMG_20140727_133619565 IMG_20140727_133635814 IMG_20140727_133711761

Coastal Scents | Revealed 2 Palette

The sample I received was titled “Sunset” and contained 4 of the eyeshadows from the Revealed 2 palette, and I absolutely loved them all! There was a matte brown, a shimmery deep purple, a sparkly rose, and a bright gold. I loved how gorgeous the colors were and how they stood out while still being neutral. All four were very buttery, with little fall-out, and lasted all day (and by all day, I mean 10+ hours over primer). I was definitely impressed by them, and am considering buying the palette when I get through with some of my other eyeshadows.

*Update: I did end up buying this palette! Review to come later.

wpid-wp-1413172435449.jpeg

Real Chemistry | Luminous 3-Minute Peel

This “peel” was very awkward to apply. I had expected it to go on my skin like a gel and then ball up as I rubbed, but it started balling up while I applied it to my face. I was unable to even massage it for the full time recommended by the packaging because of how quickly it dried up. Overall, this is very expensive for something that I can’t even tell works.

wpid-img_20141012_235301764.jpg

Whish | Shave Crave Shaving Cream – Pomegranate

This shaving cream was only “okay”. I received pomegranate, and didn’t love the smell. I also didn’t like how thin it was — in the shower, it ran off my legs before I finished shaving — and it left my legs feeling a little sticky (like all shaving creams do, which is why I usually just use shower gel).

IMG_20140811_231804364

100% Pure | Gingerade Shower Gel (Honey Cream Wash)

I dislike ginger, and so I didn’t like the scent of this at all. Also, the sample packet provided was not enough to clean my entire body (although it was nice that there were two packets included), which was disappointing.

IMG_20140715_225629054

Verdict: Out of my 5 products this month, I loved 2, could have done without 2, and disliked 1. The 100% Pure shower gel is actually the first product out of 3 Birchboxes that I’ve disliked, and that’s purely because of the smell. Most of the products this month were sort of “meh,” but the eye cream and the Revealed 2 palette sample really saved it and made this box worthwhile for me.

 

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Leave a Comment

