May 2014 Birchbox Review

I’ve been wanting to sign up for a beauty subscription box for a while now, and after some consideration I decided to go with Birchbox. The May box was my first box, and I was pretty happy with it!

IMG_20140614_194200486

The theme was “Free-wheeling”: all about freshness, optimism, and bursting into action. I don’t know how well Birchbox’s samples usually fit into the theme, but I thought about 2-3 of mine definitely qualified. So, here goes!

IMG_20140614_194312001

Beauty Protector | Protect & Detangle

I have very thick hair and the sample wasn’t very big, and so I think I skimped too much on applying this so I could get multiple uses out of it. I do like the way it smells and it helped with frizz a little bit, but not enough for me to justify buying it over cheaper drugstore brands. However, the main goal of this product is to detangle, and it definitely does that! I just don’t really need a detangler.

IMG_20140614_194338515IMG_20140614_194405944

Cynthia Rowley Beauty | Black Eyeliner

I’ve only ever tried two eyeliners before this summer: a pencil and a thick liquid liner. Both of them were hard to apply and I could never get them to either look or feel good. However, now I’m realizing that my troubles were likely due to me trying unsuitable products. A few weeks ago I picked up a liquid liner at Sephora that I really love, and this pencil liner falls into the same category.

IMG_20140614_194253413

Gilchrist & Soames | London Collection Body Lotion

I was pretty impressed with the size of this sample! I’ve been using this on just my legs daily since my box arrived (8 days), and I still have half of the bottle left. It’s a nice lotion – it’s fairly thin, and it absorbs into my skin easily.

I’d only heard of Gilchrist & Soames before because they supply bath products for some of the hotels I’ve stayed at. I always love their body washes and lotions, and this is no exception, but I’ve never spent my own money on any of their products before and I’m not planning on starting now.

IMG_20140614_194519081

Harvey Prince | Hello

This perfume starts as a very strong & bright citrus scent, but then within an hour fades into a more subtle floral. The scent keeps shifting slightly over the course of the day, and it really does last all day. It’s really perfect for wearing on work days — the loud citrus makes me feel happy to be awake early in the morning, but then it has settled into a more understated floral by the time I get to work.

Top notes: Meyer lemon, Satsuma mandarin & white grapefruit

Heart notes: Summer forsythia & pink plumeria

Base notes: Wild verbena, Tahitian vanilla, & sensual musk.

*this photo was taken after about 4 uses of this sample.

IMG_20140610_223550844IMG_20140614_194447148

Supergoop! | Everyday SPF 30 with Cellular Response Technology

This sunscreen is a little runny, but I think that’s why it manages to soak into my skin so well. After I apply it, I completely forget I’m wearing sunscreen! It doesn’t even smell sunscreen-like; in fact, the smell is rather pleasant. Because of the small sample size, I have only used it on my face, but I find that my face is always the hardest to find sunscreen for because I don’t like the heavy feeling of most sunscreens. Also, I haven’t spent much time outside in the last week, so I don’t actually know how effective the SPF is.

*check out my June 2014 Birchbox Review to find out why there are 2 Supergoop! samples in this photo.

IMG_20140614_190439384

Verdict: I’m glad I started subscribing to Birchbox! Out of 5 products this month, I loved 3 of them, liked 1, and could have done without 1 (guessing game: which is which?).

While some people may find it odd to buy samples, so far I’ve found that they’re the perfect size to fit my lifestyle. I move around and travel a lot, and so huge bottles aren’t very convenient for me. I’m also still trying to figure out what skincare works for me, and so I’ve even been looking for sample sizes at drugstores to avoid shelling out lots of money for something that might not suit me.

If you’re planning on purchasing a Birchbox subscription, please consider using my referral link: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/justabirchbox

Leave a Comment

